Skip to main content

How CROSS-UK is structured

The CROSS Technical Board is responsible for setting the technical and engineering strategy for CROSS-UK. The CROSS-UK team work with the Expert Panels to implement the strategy.


Structural-Safety Ltd (SSL) is the legal entity for CROSS-UK. SSL is owned equally by the Institution of Structural Engineers (IStructE) and the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE), who founded CROSS-UK in 1976. Both are registered charities in the UK. The entity was established to allow the two institutions to jointly manage CROSS-UK. It provides benefits to professionals and the public and is independent of influences which could affect the objectivity of decision making.

The Health and Safety Executive (HSE) have supported CROSS-UK since 1995.

From 2020, CROSS-UK began working with the Institution of Fire Engineers (IFE) to develop and run CROSS-UK for fire safety.


CROSS Technical Board

Neil Gibbins

QFSM FIFireE Hon FIStructE

Lead Fire Safety Consultant, CROSS

Neil Gibbins headshot

Bill Hewlett


Chair, CROSS-UK Structural Safety Expert Panel

Bill Hewlett headshot

Paul Livesey

BEng MSc CEng MIStructE

Scheme Manager, CROSS

Headshot for Paul Livesey 2

Alastair Soane

BSc PhD CEng FICE FIStructE Hon FIFireE

Principal Consultant, CROSS

Alastair Soane headshot

Peter Wilkinson

EngD CEng FIFireE CSci MIScT

Fire Engineering Consultant, CROSS

Peter Wilkinson headshot

John Wolstenholme

BEng (Hons) FIStructE FIExpE MICE

Vice-chair, CROSS-UK Structural Safety Expert Panel

John Wolstenholme headshot

Structural-Safety Ltd Board

David Porter (Chair)

Vice President, Institution of Civil Engineers


Kristy MacDonald (Company Secretary)

Board Secretary and Head of Professional Conduct, Institution of Structural Engineers


Darren Byrne (Director) 

Deputy Chief Executive, Institution of Structural Engineers


Julie Bregulla (Director) 

Professor of Engineering and Director, TEDI-London


Mark Hansford

Director of Engineering Knowledge, Institution of Civil Engineers


Don McQuillan

Past President, Institution of Structural Engineers / Director, RPS